How Complicated IS This Life of Faith?

Micah 6:8 says that we are to “act justly, walk humbly and love mercy.”  Is that all?  On some level I want it to be more complicated — because that verse is impossible in its simplicity.  And that would be enough to keep us busy for a lifetime. Even one of those phrases.

Yet we junk up our lives with a zillion other rules.  I don’t know why that passage in Colossians 2:21-23 makes me laugh. It’s not really funny, but it’s really true that we think this way: 

“‘Do not handle, do not taste, do not touch!’ … These are matters which have, to be sure, the appearance of wisdom in self-made religion and self-abasement and severe treatment of the body, but are of no value against fleshly indulgence.”

I’m wondering what rules I live by that are Cary-add-ons and not the things that God really cares about?  A lot.  Here are a few off the top of my head:

  • I must fill silences in conversations
  • I must justify myself and be understood
  • I must make sure everyone in my sphere of influence knows what the right thing to do is (I’ve graduated from making sure they DO it but haven’t graduated from making sure they are aware of the “TO DO” list)
  • My days should always be productive
  • I have to finish every book I start

Jubilee thinking… today it seems related to (as my mother always says and I don’t know who she’s quoting), “letting it lie where Jesus flung it.”  

There are things I’m always working at, striving for, harvesting if you will.  Fallowness calls.

Leave a Reply

