Atonement Precedes Jubilee

The day of atonement preceded the year of jubilee for it was impossible to make restitution until someone had first made atonement for their sin.  Sin caused the inequity to begin with.

Can you take my word for it that I’ve spent some time in asking God how I sin against Him and others and asking Him to show me for what I need to ask forgiveness?  I’m not entirely excited about posting a list of my transgressions against God and neighbor in cyberspace.  It’s a long, private list.

But I do like the concept, taught at Alcoholics Anonymous, of making amends once we see what we have done wrong.  I just looked up the Twelve Steps, and I guess this concept encompasses many of them:

4. Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.

5. Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

6. Were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character.

7. Humbly asked Him to remove our shortcomings.

8. Made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them all.

9. Made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.

10. Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it.

So I’m asking, and responding and wanting to clear out all the atonement (as if!) at once so I can jubilee to my heart’s content.  But instead I’ll accept the ongoing nature of this venture!

Leave a Reply

