Under Vows

Psalm 56:12, 13 says,

I am under vows to you, O God;

I will present my thank offerings to you.

For you have delivered me from death

and my feet from stumbling,

that I may walk before God

in the light of life.

There is great joy in these vows, which I approach gleefully and with gratitude most days.  This is the sort of gratitude that comes from getting out of prison and breathing free air.

Makes me think of another Psalm (31, verse 21): “Praise be to the Lord who showed his wonderful love to me when I was in a besieged city.”  I’ve lived in that fortress where the vows to God were legalism and shoulds, where I was sitting in a little wooden school desk chewing on my eraser, begging the Pharisees to teach me more.  It wasn’t a place; it was a mindset.

When recess comes, and you get out of there to play a little foursquare, and you see the hole in the fence and slip on through it, nobody’s going to entice you back in to that classroom.

And there’s a sweetness in vows that spring from having been introduced to freedom and light.  They are mine.

Leave a Reply

