Knowing Prosperity when It’s Here

I love Jeremiah 17:5-9.  Let me start by sharing it with you:

This is what the Lord says: Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who depends on flesh for his strength, and whose heart turns away from the Lord.  He will be like a bush in the wastelands; he will not see prosperity when it comes. He will dwell in the parched places of the desert, in a salt land where no one lives.

 

But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.

He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.

 

The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?

 

I don’t know why I say I LOVE it; it’s hard and convicting and — as it says — I don’t even know my own heart enough to know when I’m judging myself aright as to my motives and motivations.  Like that verse where Paul says, “I have a clear conscience but that doesn’t make me innocent” (1 Corinthians 4:4).

But I do love truth.  And it does set us free.  And the truth is that a jubilee mindset isn’t possible when we think that we are the ones suffering and in need of a hand-out instead of knowing that prosperity is here, right now, and not missing it, and living as a prosperous one.

Heard a John Piper sermon yesterday in which he said that our spiritual gifts are the means by which we deliver grace to others, translating the vertical experience of receiving from God into the horizontal experience of administering grace in its various forms, or being a branch that serves as conduit for the power from the Vine, or loving with the love first given to us.
Jubilee implies bounty shared, debts forgiven, abundance acknowledged and enjoyed.  Jeremiah makes me think that that’s impossible without trusting God more than trusting man.   Parched bush… drought-free, leafy green tree.  Two different realities.  Two different mindsets.  Jubilee demands trust in God.

Leave a Reply

