A dresser drawer. Blankets. Diapers.

Somebody's always selling something. Apologies to the ad campaign.

Those are the basics when it comes to outfitting a baby.  Yet when do we ever stick to the basics in gimme America?  More importantly, when do I?

Thinking about parenting and consumption, I ran across this article today:

http://www.sojo.net/index.cfm?action=magazine.article&issue=soj0901&article=buy-buy-baby

Valerie Weaver-Zercher has written an interesting piece in Sojourners about the implications of our purchasing habits. Here’s a teaser line (quoting Katherine Turpin, theology professor at Iliff School of Theology in Denver):

Christian faith may help us reframe the question, Turpin suggests. “That responsibility is not only to my children but to all children,” she says. “As people of faith, we want all children to have what they need.” This idea might help parents retain a global perspective on what can become a rather insular, privileged problem: shopping for baby. “It’s important to remember that our ability to get cheap toys rests on the labor of other people’s children,” Turpin says. “Getting new toys for our kids is not morally neutral.”

“Shopping for baby” is just the beginning of it.  This is a theme I’ve written about often and one I’m researching further for other projects.  Because it’s my greatest struggle in trying to live jubilee principles… my desire to do everything for my children that I can do (balanced with wanting to raise responsible, non-entitled adults).  On this subject, I’m usually preaching to myself.

Leave a Reply

