Rob Bell and A Manifesto for the Church in Exile

I’m on a road trip returning from the Festival of Faith & Writing out in Grand Rapids, so my blogging has been limited.  I miss it.  But today before I hit the road again I wanted to share with readers the wonderful audiobook I’m immersed in and its jubilee themes.  Rob Bell and Don Golden are keeping me company as they alternate reading “Jesus Wants to Save Christians: A Manifesto for the Church in Exile.”

Chapter four has been particularly helpful in sorting through America as empire, as in the Biblical empires we read about and are warned against.

It’s got me thinking (in a discussion of our dependency on foreign oil) about the juxtaposition of gratitude and entitlement. We have blessings, we get used to them, we feel they are our birthright, we’re pissed if they’re taken away, even temporarily.  The authors are preaching to ME, sisters and brothers.

With a recent power outage came my “ugly American” rant: “How can this happen?  I have to check my email.”

God Bless America?; he has!

Leave a Reply

