Us and Them, Penny and Catapult

Read my friend Penny’s excellent article on her transformation from “us and them” thinking to nuanced love (she might not call it that but I know her and I do):

http://www.catapultmagazine.com/wake-up/feature/when-you-point-your-finger

Her piece is in catapult magazine online (if you don’t know catapult, check them out beyond her article; they’re great).   Here’s a teaser:

“It took me awhile to realize that I had more in common with those I denounced than with those who have learned how to love.  I had created a mutually-reinforcing club with no one to keep me accountable because I’d dismissed dissenting voices.”

This is something I’m really thinking about these days, and I may be writing about it for a while.  We each have categories of unforgivable people, the dreadful other, on whom we can look and say, like the Pharisee in Luke 18:11:

“God, I thank you that I am not like other men–robbers, evildoers, adulterers–or even like this tax collector.”

Who are you thankful you’re not like… perhaps me?

Leave a Reply

